Bike Shop Stop: The Bike Rack

On my way to Dupont, I stopped in at this neighborhood bike shop off of Q and 14th. Real neat set up and look. I was in to snag a new rear blinker to temporarily replace my Blackburn Flea 2.0. Perk about the Flea 2.0 is that it’s USB chargeable, ultra compact, lightweight and super bright with a few different settings to choose from. Downside is the charger is a small separate piece…about 3/4 the size of my pinky, and didn’t charge my backlight unless I wiggled the charger to a certain position. Even then, it wouldn’t completely charge. Bummer, because the Flea 2.0 costs around $30. I emailed Blackburn informing them of my dilemma and on the bright side Blackburn is kindly sending me a brand new rear light this week! Hopefully it’ll work better the 2nd time around.

Still in need of a rear blinker for the night, I left shop with the Giant Numen Mini Taillight (thanks to the front guy who looked stoned). The Numen Mini reminds me of the Knog silicone lights (which I like), 2 settings, battery powered…overall great for what I needed it for. While waiting for the green light on 16th and R, a cream colored Ford pulled up next to me. Didn’t think anything of it until I heard “TATIANA!”, I gingerly turn my head and what do you know! My theater friend from high school who I haven’t seen since graduation (2006) was waving at me hysterically. Turns out, she’s in town doing Show Boat at the Kennedy Center. After an awesome 40 second conversation, off we went. Eight minutes later (precision!), as I locked up, I hear another “TATIANA!”…I clasped the lock, look up, and another theater friend from high school swaggers up to me for a hug. Turns out he’s back from LA, and spending the summer in DC. Small world. Small DC. Or maybe there’s a high school theater troupe reunion that I wasn’t invited to.

Oh the places you’ll go and the people you’ll run into!  Safety first! More to come… happy riding.

PS – I didn’t mean for this post to be a safety light review and life preservation post. But there ya go.

Leave a Reply

