Throw Back Thursday!: Red Bike Girl

Throw Back Thursday!: Red Bike Girl

This was my very first ride. Well, second ride if you want to count my tricycle (which was also red) as my first ride. It pedaled me through elementary, middle school, (high school I took a weird hiatus and drove a volvo station wagon), and eventually into college.

In college, I was nicknamed Red Bike Girl to people who didn’t know my name. And to be honest, it stuck pretty well and I liked it. Kind of like my alias or alter ego, like Batman’s Bruce, Superman’s Clark, Spiderman’s Peter. No real super power’s, but riding down Center Road at 3am made me feel like I was standing on top of the world. Sometimes you need that in college, an escape, from growing up too fast.

Here’s to everyone’s first set of wheels. Cheers, and happy riding.

Leave a Reply

